Museums

Museums

Museums, galleries and exhibitions invite visitors who want to explore the 700-year-old history of the city. The Holy Trinity Royal Chapel, Donjon, Fortuna Cellar and the Cathedral are just a few of must-see places in Lublin. With a valid Lublin Tourist Card you can visit them for free!

List of places honoring the Tourist Card

State Museum at Majdanek

State Museum at Majdanek

The museum at Majdanek is one of the most important memorial places in Poland. It encompasses an area of a former German concentration camp, where nearly 80,000 people were killed during World War II. The realities of the concentration camp are presented in indoor and outdoor exhibitions. Visitors can see authentic objects from the camp, barracks, gas chambers and the crematorium.

Free car park for cardholders 24h 72h

ul. Droga Męczenników Majdanka 67, 20-325 Lublin

Centrum obsługi zwiedzających:

tel. +48 81 710 28 33

fax +48 81 710 28 65

centrum@majdanek.eu

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Open Air Village Museum

Open Air Village Museum

The museum of the Lublin village is one of the largest folk museums in Poland. Old rural architecture set in the picturesque scenery offers a glimpse of the cultural diversity of the Lublin Region. Exhibitions present traditional customs, habits and daily work that took place in villages, towns and manors in bygone times. The museum is a venue of regular cultural events and re-enactments of folk traditions, such as harvesting, pickling cabbage, midsummer night and many others.

Al. Warszawska 96, 20-824 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 533 85 13, +48 81 533 31 37

skansen@skansen.lublin.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Józef Czechowicz Literary Museum

Józef Czechowicz Literary Museum

Poet Józef Czechowicz is one of the most renowned Lubliners in the city’s history. In the museum you can see most of his literary legacy: manuscripts, letters to family and friends, photos, documents, fragments of the poet’s diary, school certificates, about 50 books from his private library and materials connected with his involvement in the Lublin Literary Association.

Closed on Mondays.

ul. Złota 3, 20-112 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 30 90 (91)

czechowicz@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 72

Wincenty Pol’s Manor

Wincenty Pol’s Manor

The museum of poet Wincenty Pol is situated in a neoclassical manor built at the end of the 18th century. It was originally located in Firlejowszczyzna Estate near Lublin. In the years 1804 – 1810 it belonged to the poet’s father, Franciszek Ksawery Pol. The museum hosts a unique collection of 110 globes with Polish inscriptions from the 19th and 20th century.

Closed on Mondays

Oddział Muzeum Lubelskiego w Lublinie

ul. Kalinowszczyzna 13, 20-129 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 747 24 13

dworekpola@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Museum of the History of Lublin

Museum of the History of Lublin

Located inside the Cracow Gate, the museum features a rich collection of exhibits related to the history of the city. There are archaeological finds discovered during excavations, a collection of periodicals, daily newspapers, occasional publications, posters and leaflets, and iconography (mainly postcards and photos) showing Lublin from the end of the 19th century to the 1960s.

Closed on Mondays

Muzeum Historii Miasta Lublina (Brama Krakowska)

pl. Łokietka 3, 20-109 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 60 01

bramakrakowska@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Church of the Assumption of Our Lady of Victory

Church of the Assumption of Our Lady of Victory

The brick church and convent were built for the Birgittine Order by King Ladislaus Jagiello, in the years 1412 – 1426, as a thanksgiving for the victory in the battle of Grunwald, which was foreseen by St Birgitta. Legend has it that the church was built by Teutonic prisoners captured after the battle. The church has the oldest painting in Lublin – the painting of St Birgitta, unique Gothic frescoes and a tower with a viewing point.

ul. Gabriela Narutowicza 6, 20-004 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 525 88 31

fax.: +48 81 743 70 19

pobrygidkowski@diecezja.lublin.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

The House of Words – The Chamber of Printing

The House of Words – The Chamber of Printing

The Chamber of Printing is situated in the old printing house operating in the 1930s. In the scenery of old printing press, and typesetting and bookbinding machines, you can learn about the history, techniques and technology used in printing in the past. The museum also organises workshops in typesetting, calligraphy, lithography, bookbinding and papermaking.

Closed on Mondays

ul. Królewska 17, ul. Żmigród 1 20-110 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 534 52 33

domslow@tnn.lublin.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 72

‘The Grodzka Gate – NN Theatre’ Centre

‘The Grodzka Gate – NN Theatre’ Centre

The exhibition entitled ‘Lublin. Memory of the Place’ is dedicated to multicultural, pre-war Lublin and focuses on programmes realised by the centre – ‘The Oral History’ and ‘Space and Iconography of pre-war Lublin.’ You can see a model of the city from the times before World War II, unique photos on glass plate negatives, original pre-war advertisement in Yiddish, and many items and topics presented in an innovative way.

Closed on Mondays

ul. Grodzka 21, 20-112 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 58 67

teatrnn@tnn.lublin.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Lublin Cathedral

Lublin Cathedral

This beautiful church is full of real treasures. The name of the acoustic vestry refers to its amazing acoustic properties. If you stand in a corner, facing the wall, and whisper, you can communicate with the person in the opposite corner. The ceiling carries sound that cannot be heard by people standing in the middle of the vestry. The fresco on the ceiling depicts a triumph of the Catholic faith over heretics. In the vestry there are also historic exhibits and crypts.

Closed on Mondays

Parafia św. Jana Chrzciciela i św. Jana Ewangelisty (Archikatedra)

ul. Królewska 10, 20-109 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 11 96

katedra@diecezja.lublin.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Yeshiva Chachmei Lublin

Yeshiva Chachmei Lublin

Founded in 1930 by Meir Shapiro, the Yeshiva was the largest centre of Torah study in the world, which is why Jews used to call Lublin the Oxford of the East. The outbreak of World War II spelled the end of the yeshiva. Nowadays, tourists can visit this impressive eclectic 5-storey building with a synagogue, library and a remembrance room featuring old photos and historical items.
It is also worth seeing an exhibition dedicated to the history of Yeshiva Chachmei at the Museum of the History of the Yeshiva of the Lublin Magi.
In the building there is also the Ilan Hotel and The Olive restaurant.

Closed on Mondays

ul. Lubartowska 85, 20-123 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 745 03 47, +48 81 478 50 60, +48 81 478 50 63

tel.: +48 506 196 017

fax.: +48 81 478 50 62

recepcja@hotelilan.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Fortuna Cellar

Fortuna Cellar

Fortuna Cellar is one of the top tourist attractions of Lublin. It is located in the cellar of a historic townhouse of the Lubomelski Family. The most important room in this museum is the old winery with unique, 16th-century polychromes depicting secular scenes with references to antiquity and Renaissance customs. Other rooms host multimedia presentations, visualizations and historic exhibits connected with the history of Lublin.

Rynek 8, 20-111 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 444 55 55

piwnica@lrot.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Lapidarium

Lapidarium

The exhibition presents preserved Gothic and Renaissance fragments of architectural details from the Old Town and the Lublin Castle as well as other interesting exhibits. The most interesting ones include a piece of a late-Gothic plaque with a 15th-century inscription, found during renovation works at the castle, an Ionian capitol of a column from the castle hall from the 16th century and a 1604 bell from the Old Town.

Closed on Mondays.

ul. Zamkowa 9, 20-117 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 50 01 do 03

fax.: +48 81 532 17 43

kancelaria@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 72

Donjon

Donjon

The castle tower called the Donjon is a 13th-century Romanesque structure and the oldest building in Lublin. The top floors of the donjon host a historical exhibition dedicated to prisoners kept at the castle - from Polish freedom fighters imprisoned after the 1848 Spring of Nations and 1863 January Uprising, to captives held during World War II and the years of 1944-1954. Steep medieval stairs lead to a terrace at the top of the tower with a panoramic view of the picturesque Old Town.

ul. Zamkowa 9, 20-117 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 50 01 do 03

fax.: +48 81 532 17 43

kancelaria@muzeumlubelskie.pl

Available for cards: 24 72

Holy Trinity Chapel

Holy Trinity Chapel

The Holy Trinity Royal Chapel is a pearl on the tourist map of Lublin. Decorated with unique Russo-Byzantine frescoes, the 1418 Gothic chapel is one of the most precious and interesting examples of medieval art in Poland and in Europe, a place where eastern and western cultural influences meet. It is a great tourist attraction for all visitors sightseeing the castle.

Entrance only on the hour

ul. Zamkowa 9, 20-117 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 50 01 do 03

fax.: +48 81 532 17 43

kancelaria@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 24 72

Lublin Museum

Lublin Museum

Situated on the hill, the impressive Lublin Castle is a must-see when visiting the city. It features many permanent exhibitions of archaeological relics, coins and medals, regional folk art, weaponry, decorative arts, Polish paintings (including the famous ‘Union of Lublin’ by Jan Matejko) and foreign paintings. The museum also hosts interesting temporary exhibitions and cultural events.

Closed on Mondays, Lublin Tourist Card does not include temporary exhibitions

ul. Zamkowa 9, 20-117 Lublin

tel.: +48 81 532 50 01 do 03

tel.: +48 81 532 17 43

kancelaria@muzeumlubelskie.pl

visit the website

Available for cards: 72

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.